Constitution of South Africa


This Constitution is the supreme law of the Republic of South Africa and any obligations imposed by it must be fulfilled. Chapter 2 contains the Bill of Rights which affirms the democratic values of human dignity, equality and freedom. For instance, the State is mandated to take reasonable legislative measures to achieve the progressive realization of the right and access to adequate housing.

Chapter 3 deals with the co-operative government which is composed of the national, provincial and local spheres of government which are distinct, interdependent and interrelated institutions. Moreover, this document prescribes the Legislative, Executive and Judicial organs of State under Chapters 4, 5 and 8 respectively. Chapters 6 and 7 elucidate the provincial and local governance structure of the Republic. Finally, Chapter 13 deals with the general financial matters such as the National Revenue Fund and the equitable allocation of revenue among the local spheres of government.

This Law repeals the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa Third Amendment Act (1996). Moreover, various amendments to this document have taken place, the latest being the Constitution Seventeenth Amendment Act (2012) which made a number of changes to the structure of the South African judiciary.

Country: South Africa
Statute Number: 108
Year: 1996